Important Message from The Joint Chiropractic regarding COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) - Read More

7 Yoga Moves for Opening Your Chakras

By KayLee Chie Kuehl 

Yoga focuses on the alignment of the mind, body, and soul. Developed centuries ago in Northern India, yoga remains a sacred practice tied to a number of religions. Terms used too loosely today, such as yogi, are a part of Buddhist, Hindu, and Jainist teachings and more. A part of this spiritual system are the seven chakras. The chakras are wheels of energy circulating throughout our bodies and have a direct connection to yoga. Both are rooted in spiritual philosophies bringing oneness to the self.  

While chakras are the energies that run through us, yoga is a practice of energetic hygiene with the ability to clear negativity from our conscious. By practicing yoga, it is possible to open and balance the seven chakras. Here are a few yoga poses assigned for each chakra! 

Root chakra (Muladhara)

  • Mountain pose (Tadasana) - Stand at the top of your yoga mat with your feet hip width apart. Roll your shoulders back with your palms facing forward and open your upper body. 
  • Child's pose (Balasana) - A classic! Rest your forehead on the bat, stretch your arms forward and melt back into your hips. Let go of all worries and focus on your breathing. 

Sacral chakra (Svadhishthana)

  • Frog pose (Mandukasana) - An intense hip opener. This is great for relaxing and releasing tension in the hips. This pose soothes lower back pain and serves as an emotional position where inner healing can begin.

Solar plexus chakra (Manipura)

  • Seated spinal twist (Ardha Matsyendrasana) - This pose relieves back pain and calms the nerves. It's great for digestion and is known to reveal the inner self's true intentions.
  • Sun salutations (Surya Namaskar) - One of the best warm ups for yoga. This cycle helps you find your center. It's a strong core activator and aids in gaining warmth and control over the body. 

Heart chakra (Anahata)

  • Cat/Cow pose (Marjaiasana/Bitilasana) - This pose opens the chest and shoulders, balancing the body. Be sure to lead with the heart in order to activate this chakra.
  • Warrior I (Virabhadrasana I) - A popular pose that grounds the root chakra to the heart. This is a great way to bring loving energy around yourself. 

Throat chakra (Vishuddha)

  • Neck stretch - This relieves tension in the spine and opens the front of the neck and throat. Roll your neck from side to side and in a circle. 

Third eye chakra (Ajna)

  • Meditation - Classic meditation helps balance the third eye when it's out of order. Committing to meditation for five to ten minutes can help relieve tension in this chakra.
  • Feathered peacock pose (Pincha Mayurasana) - Stimulates the third eye due to its upside down motion. Keep your feet hip width apart. Place one foot in front of the other and touch your hands on either side of the front foot. Hand your head and relax. When you're ready, switch to the other foot. 

Crown chakra (Sahasrara)

  • Corpse pose (Savasana) - Arguably the most important pose. To enter, lie on your back and close your eyes. Imagine roots sprouting from your body and connecting to the ground beneath you. Remind yourself you are one with the universe and one with the earth. 

There are many things we do throughout our daily lives that better our inner and outer selves, but practicing yoga is one of the most powerful ways we can open ourselves and our chakras!

To learn more about your health, wellness and fitness, see your local chiropractor at The Joint Chiropractic in Sacramento, Calif.  

Story Link

Download your offer today and save!

$29 New Patient Special, Consultation | Exam | Adjustment

Offer valued at $45. Valid for new patients only. See clinic for chiropractor(s)' name and license info. Clinics managed and/or owned by franchisee or Prof. Corps. Restrictions may apply to Medicare eligible patients. Individual results may vary.