Food to Avoid on the Celiac Disease Diet
By Lana Bandoim
After you are diagnosed with celiac disease, one of the most common questions is about food. Celiac disease is an autoimmune disorder that requires being on a strict gluten-free diet for the rest of your life. It can be difficult to figure out what is safe to eat, but the following tips may help.
What Must You Avoid?
Gluten is a protein commonly found in food such as wheat, barley, triticale, rye and malt. It is important to learn the different names for these products and recognize them on labels and ingredient lists. For example, wheat may also be called durum flour, spelt, semolina or other names.
If you are struggling to remember all the names, then consider using an app or website to check them while shopping. There are also specific apps designed to make it easier to tell if an item is gluten-free and safe for celiac disease.
Other Things to Avoid
In addition to learning to recognize the common sources of gluten in food, you have to be careful about contamination. During the manufacturing and packaging process, some products can be exposed to wheat, barley, rye, malt or triticale and become contaminated. People with celiac disease may react to small amounts of gluten such as crumbs. Some may have very serious reactions, so it is crucial to avoid contaminated products.
This is why it is important to read labels carefully and buy gluten-free products. For example, oatmeal does not contain gluten in its natural form, but it is frequently contaminated during processing with wheat, barley or rye. You have to buy gluten-free certified oats and oatmeal to make sure they are safe for celiac disease.
Be Careful While Eating Out
Eating out can be a struggle for people on the gluten-free diet because contamination is a common problem in restaurants and cafes. In addition, some chefs use products with gluten while cooking, and it is not easy to see all the ingredients on every menu. Make sure you ask multiple questions and confirm that all of the food is gluten-free and safe for celiac disease before eating. In addition, do not share utensils or plates with other people at the table if they are eating gluten.
If you have celiac disease and have more questions about food, then talk to your doctor or nutritionist. They can provide more details about the gluten-free diet and help create detailed meal plans that make it easier to avoid unsafe food products or recipes.
To learn more about your health and wellness, see your local chiropractor at The Joint Chiropractic in Raleigh, N.C.