Important Message from The Joint Chiropractic regarding COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) - Read More

Common and Hidden Sources of Gluten

By Lana Bandoim

Gluten is a protein that can hide in many products, so it is often difficult for people on the gluten-free diet who are trying to avoid it. However, if you have celiac disease, it is important to learn the common sources of gluten that can jeopardize your diet. Whether it is hiding in gravy or soup, gluten can show up in many places.

Why You Have to Avoid Gluten

If you have celiac disease or gluten intolerance, then avoiding this protein is necessary. Even a small amount can lead to symptoms and damage of the small intestines. Some people who have celiac disease react to a single crumb of bread.

Condiments and Sauces

Condiments and sauces are often hidden sources of gluten. Gravy and soy sauce tend to have wheat as one of the ingredients. It is also important to check other types of sauces because manufacturers can include gluten.

Although some brands of condiments such as ketchup and mustard are gluten-free, others are not safe for celiac disease. If you are concerned about a particular product and confused by the label, then contact the brand or manufacturer directly to get answers. Most brands have their phone numbers and websites printed on the back of the labels.

Soups

Soup may seem like a safe choice for people with celiac disease because it tends to be made with vegetables or meat. However, some soups may have wheat as a thickener. Do not assume that soup is safe without checking all the ingredients.

In addition, soup that is cooked with wheat noodles is not safe for people with celiac disease even if the noodles are removed before serving it. The soup has been contaminated with gluten. It should be avoided.

Salad Dressings and Seasoning

It can be boring to eat a plain salad with lettuce and vegetables. However, some salad dressings have gluten and are not safe for people with celiac disease. In addition, seasoning packets can also have gluten in them. Sometimes manufacturers use wheat as an ingredient, and other times the products are simply contaminated with wheat. Make sure you check every seasoning for gluten before using it in the kitchen.

Learn to identify the common and hidden sources of gluten. Pay attention to everything you eat while on the gluten-free diet and ask for additional help. Your doctor or nutritionist may be able to provide more resources and advice for staying on the diet.

To learn more about your health and wellness, see your local chiropractor at The Joint Chiropractic in Santee, Calif.

Story Link

Download your offer today and save!

$29 New Patient Special, Consultation | Exam | Adjustment

Offer valued at $39. Valid for new patients only. See clinic for chiropractor(s)' name and license info. Clinics managed and/or owned by franchisee or Prof. Corps. Restrictions may apply to Medicare eligible patients. Individual results may vary.