Important Message from The Joint Chiropractic regarding COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) - Read More

Places Where Gluten May Be Hiding in Your ""Healthy"" Diet

Whether you’re jumping on the gluten-free bandwagon or if you are dealing with celiac disease, there are several reasons why you might be implementing a gluten-free lifestyle.  By eliminating gluten from your diet, you are making a concerted effort to analyze everything you eat.  For the sake of your health, you have to be proactive about each and every part of your diet.  Gluten seems to be lurking everywhere.  In fact, there may be traces of gluten even in foods marketed as “gluten-free.”

This doesn’t mean that there isn’t hope for the gluten intolerant.  You just have to be careful when you are purchasing processed or packaged foods.

Check out these places where gluten is hiding that you may not know:

Soy Sauce

For all you sushi lovers out there, be careful what soy sauce you consume.  Although the primary ingredient in soy sauce is obviously soy, there may be traces of wheat lurking in your favorite Japanese condiment.  This doesn’t mean you have to ditch soy sauce for good.  Just be sure to check the label; there are many soy sauce brands that offer gluten-free options.

Hot Dogs

Just because you ditched the bun, doesn’t mean you are in the gluten-free clear.  Many hot dog franks and even sausages contain wheat gluten.  It is crucial to check the label to make sure that you favorite barbecue fare is not hiding gluten.


Certain pickles may contain gluten in them.  The pickling process differs from pickle to pickle, and some may use wheat gluten to create that pickley taste that so many of us love.  Again, reading the label is paramount to ensuring that your pickle isn’t hiding gluten inside.

Veggie Burgers

If you are a vegetarian who doesn’t eat gluten, make sure that you are careful of what type of veggie burger you eat.  Many brands of veggie burger contain wheat gluten.  A healthy veggie burger option is to make your own at home.  There are many gluten- free veggie burger recipes that you can find online.

Salad Dressing

Do you think you’re being healthy by ordering a salad?  The dressing you choose can actually have gluten in it.  Many salad dressings contain thickening agents, which contain wheat gluten in them.  If you see “modified food starch” on the label, it contains gluten.

It takes quite a bit of effort to eat healthy, but when you’re gluten-free too, it presents even more challenges.  However, if you are proactive and research everything that goes into your diet, you can eat healthy and gluten-free.  For whatever reason why you are eliminating gluten from your diet, make sure that you are conscious of labels and don’t fall victim to one of the many foods that are hiding gluten in them.


Always consult your chiropractor or primary care physician for all your health related advice.

Story Credit

Image Credit: Used under Creative Commons Licensing

Download your offer today and save!

$29 New Patient Special, Consultation | Exam | Adjustment

Offer valued at $45. Valid for new patients only. See clinic for chiropractor(s)' name and license info. Clinics managed and/or owned by franchisee or Prof. Corps. Restrictions may apply to Medicare eligible patients. Individual results may vary.