Important Message from The Joint Chiropractic regarding COVID-19 (Novel Coronavirus) - Read More

Foods With Hidden Gluten!

By Sara Butler

Gluten has had a rough ride lately. While it’s true that not everyone needs to avoid it, for those that do it can be more difficult than you think to make sure that what you’re eating doesn’t have gluten. That’s because it's not just loaves of bread that have gluten -- it can actually be found in a variety of other things you would never suspect. Here are some foods you should avoid if you’re trying to avoid gluten. Some of them may surprise you!

What to Look For

If you truly need to steer clear of gluten, then there are a few things you should look for on the label. If you see any of the following on the nutrition information, then put it back on the shelf:

  • Wheat starch
  • Modified food starch
  • Hydrolyzed vegetable protein

When in doubt, make sure to look for a label declaring the product gluten-free.

Unexpected Sources of Gluten

You may think all you need to do to keep gluten out of your diet is avoid wheat products such as bread, but that’s simply not the case. So many things are made from wheat that it turns up in some pretty unexpected places. You should avoid:

  • Some chocolates, licorice, and gum – Red and black licorice often contain wheat flour, as do many brands of gum. Gluten is used as a thickening agent in some chocolates as well.
  • Potato chips – While potatoes themselves are gluten-free, some of the flavorings may not be. Flavors such as barbecue and sour cream may contain wheat.
  • Deli meat – Many brands of deli meat contain wheat-based fillers, so make sure you read the labels carefully and avoid certain flavors. Honey baked or barbecue can contain wheat starch.
  • Soy sauce – Sorry Chinese food fans, but this sauce has wheat in it. Opt for tamari sauce instead.
  • Meat substitutes – If you’re a vegan or vegetarian who needs to avoid gluten, be very careful with faux meat products such as vegetable burgers or seitan. Wheat is often used as a binder in these foods. Tempeh and tofu are generally safe, but make sure they don’t contain fillers.
  • Pickles – This one might surprise you! The malt vinegar used in pickles is made from barley and barley has gluten in it. Try to choose a pickle made with white vinegar.

The truth is you have to be very careful when trying to avoid gluten. Learn what to look for!

To learn more about your health and wellness, see your local chiropractor at The Joint Chiropractic in Buford, Ga.

 

Story Link

Download your offer today and save!

$29 New Patient Special, Consultation | Exam | Adjustment

Offer valued at $39. Valid for new patients only. See clinic for chiropractor(s)' name and license info. Clinics managed and/or owned by franchisee or Prof. Corps. Restrictions may apply to Medicare eligible patients. Individual results may vary.